Tags

, ,

The Unwanteds by Lisa McMann

unwantedsIn the land of Quill, creativity of any sort can lead to your death. Alex Stowe knows that he his is an Unwanted, to be sent to his death at the Purge. But instead, he ends up in a magical land called Artimé. Run by a magical man named Mr. Today, this land has odd creatures, wondrous borders, and strangest of all, creativity is treasured.


What I Thought of The Unwanteds

Many people say that The Unwanteds is “Harry Potter meets Hunger Games”, with a great balance of magic and dystopia. It was well written and very imaginative throughout. I was absorbed into the creativity filled world of Artimé as Alex and his new friends explored and learned magic. In my opinion, there is almost nothing I would change about this book. The one improvement that could be made would be to have more character building, because I didn’t have much of a connection with the characters. I found that Alex tended to completely ignore rules even when he was directly told to not do something. Otherwise, many things about The Unwanteds were superb. The minor romance definitely didn’t go overboard as some fantasy/sci-fi books do, but was a nice aspect. If you only enjoy romance however, this is not the book for you.  For dystopian or fantasy lovers, The Unwanteds is one of my all-time favorite novels, right behind the Harry Potter series. Overall, I give this book a 4.5 out of 5 stars.

The most memorable part of this book to me is actually when Alex first starts looking around Artimé and discovering all the cool parts of it. I just thought the world building was very detailed and original.

Overall Rating: 4.5 Stars

