Tags

, ,

Wonderstruck by Brian Selznick

9780545027892_custom-643485512fa2323349754b08d75867c74ad6e370-s6-c30With a somehow similar yet completely different style exhibited in Selznick’s big hit The Invention of Hugo Cabret, the author comes out with a story about two different characters in different eras. Ben, a half-deaf boy longing for a father, and Rose, an aspiring actress who just wants a chance. In a picture-and-words tale, these two worlds and lives will come together in an astounding way.


What I Thought of Wonderstruck

I had huge expectations for this book, after the enticing Hugo Cabret, and although it didn’t have the same effect, Wonderstruck was still way worth it. Once again, I was blown away with the genius character building. After just a few chapters, I felt like both characters were old friends, which is an honorable achievement considering Selznick primarily built personality through his splendid artwork. At first, the set-up with the separate characters confused me a bit as I tried to keep them straight. It took me a while to realize this yet now I understand that this was an important and most likely purposeful aspect. Obviously I enjoyed the characters just as much as in Hugo Cabret! As for the plot, things were very different. The storyline was much more gradual and slow, but kept me intrigued throughout. I was shocked with the ending and so pleased! This conclusion was so surprising, and seemed to call for a sequel. But in general Selznick fashion, no second book has been released.Overall, this experience was completely against what I expected, yet wonderful in its own way! I give Wonderstruck 4.5 out of 5 stars!

A memorable part of this book was, as you could probably tell, the ending! To not disclose anything, I will simply say the drawings will be forever in my mind and fit the close perfectly! If you aren’t enjoying the first part of this book, remember that I loved the ending!

Overall Rating: 4.5 Stars

