Tags

, ,

The Golden Compass by Phillip Pullman

goldencompassLyra and her daemon Pan live at Oxford University in a universe where magic and science go hand in hand. Lyra is adventurous and carefree but things change when children begin to disappear and her uncle is almost poisoned, not to mention the ongoing discussion about Dust. After her friend Robert disappears Lyra decides to take a risk. She decides to embark on a quest to save her friend, find out what they are using him for and how it relates to Dust.


What I Thought of The Golden Compass

Some people say that The Golden Compass is more of an adult book so it is not suited for teenagers. This, I believe is only partially true. Although I do think adults could enjoy this book too, I still think that this book is a great YA fiction novel. Despite the fact that it could be dull at times, overall the book was stuffed with action and adventure. From the beginning to the end something was always going on and the description wasn’t excessive. And with all the many twists and turns it was hard to find anything wrong with The Golden Compass. Furthermore, I was incredibly fond of Lyra and her daring and eager attitude. When I read a book I’m not looking for a wimpy character, I want a character that is clever, diligent and willing to take a risk. Luckily for me, this is exactly what I got in The Golden Compass.

One of my favorite memorable scenes took place at the beginning of the book where Lyra prevented the murdering of her uncle. Not only was it intensely suspenseful but, additionally, I loved how the tension continued as Lyra overheard the “secret” discussion about the mysterious Dust.

Overall Rating: 4.5 Stars

