Tags

, ,

Breathe My Name by R.A. Nelson

Review Written by Guest Blogger Gretchen

20140505-204847.jpgBreathe my Name is a story about a girl named Frances. She lives a normal life with two annoying younger brothers, way over-protective parents, and an outgoing best friend. But behind that shy smile, Frances is hiding some big secrets. Only her best friend knows, and her parents, biological and adopted. Years ago, in a town made-up by her mother called “Fireless,” Frances lived happily – singing, baking, telling fairy-tale stories, and playing with her younger sisters. Then one day, Frances’ mother called her younger sisters up to her room one by one, and the little girls never came out. Only Frances escaped. Only she will see the day when her mom is free to leave her mental institute. Only Frances will track down her suspicious note. Only Frances will have the choice to live or die.


PLEASE NOTE: THE OPINIONS EXPRESSED IN THIS POST ARE THOSE OF THE GUEST BLOGGER, NOT THOSE OF BOOK INSPIRED.


What Gretchen Thought of Breathe My Name

I thought that Breathe my Name was an interesting book with a unique premise and theme. The author, R.A. Nelson, uses descriptive language, as seen on page 151: “Aunt Dot’s a photo negative of herself- she was so dark when I was seven; now her skin is wrinkled and brittle, her hair so ghostly light, it’s almost floating. Her nose is broad and red, lips lined and slack.” I finished Breathe my Name in about two days because it was so suspenseful that I could not stop reading. Yet, when I reached the end of the book, I wasn’t thrilled. There was not a huge climax that made me turn to the next page as fast as humanly possible or an ending that made me cry or grin. It was just words on a page. I also thought that all the flashbacks R.A. Nelson used were, to say the least, confusing. Though all in all, there were some heart-warming times in the book and moments of absolute brilliance. I would not give this book 5 stars, but I would recommend it for an intriguing, thought-provoking read.

I believe the most memorable part of this book was when Frances met her mom. I won’t give many details, since I don’t want to spoil this book, but the reunion was something quite special and oddly heartwarming.

Overall Rating: 4 Stars


Don’t agree with this review? Write your own on the Submit Your Own Review page.

