Tags

, ,

How They Croaked by Georgia Bragg

htc2George Washington, Christopher Columbus, Ludwig Van Beethoven. You probably know who these people are, and how they claimed fame, but do you know how they…..died? Find out with How They Croaked, a fun to read, not too gory, nonfiction book about the croaking of famous/historical figures.


What I Thought of How They Croaked

How They Croaked is an eye-opening view into the deaths of well known figures, chock full of facts, disproved fiction, and a surprising amount of gallows humor. Even though the author deals with a tough subject (death), the book is still funny and enjoyable, which is an extra special treat when reading a nonfiction! Another awesome thing were the fact sheets at the end that stated things related to the previous death story, varying from the low-down on poufs, to the not so famous last words of famous people. Let’s just say I got a lot of interesting tidbits from How They Croaked! I also loved the set-up of this book. It was divided in a way that I could navigate to find a story I am curious about at that moment, and so that I don’t have to read chronologically. The freedom to read in whatever order you like is always a plus! Another somewhat random thing I loved about this book was the illustrations. It was nice thing for me to read a book with pictures for a change, since that is no longer a common occurrence in the books I read (which I think is a shame). Anyways, I learned a lot from this book and had a few laughs too, and am looking forward to more books from this awesome author. How They Croaked gets a well-deserved 5 out of 5 stars!

Since there can’t really be a favorite “moment” in this book, I chose to write my favorite story/death, which is Marie Antoinette. The French royalty has always been a bit of a mysterious woman to me (no one could really understand her, could they?), so it was nice to hear an unbiased, unfiltered opinion of her even though I had already known how she bit the dust.

Overall Rating: 5 Stars

