Tags

, ,

The Giver by Lois Lowry

Jonas lives in a world where almost everything is exactly the same. There is no color, no choices, no pain or even fear. Every family is happy and everything is utterly perfect. And that’s what Jonas thinks too, up until the day he uncovers the truth through a man called The Giver. The Giver gives Jonas memories of the past from depressing and frightening images of war to joyful envisions of Christmas and good memories. It is here where Jonas asks the question that could change everything: how can you feel truly happy when you never have been truly sad?


What I Thought of The Giver

This book had a thrilling combo of everything I enjoy in a book including suspense, thoughtful writing, science fiction and a noteworthy story. Nevertheless, I can only give this book three stars. Even with all those good qualities there were some major blemishes that I found disappointing.

One major problem was that most of The Giver was boring! Don’t get me wrong, the other half of the novel was exciting and dramatic, my problem was how it took so long to get to that point. Not only does this make an otherwise very creative novel dull, but it also makes it predictable. Sure, from time to time I was surprised but overall I could tell how each scene would end. And, the final unsatisfactory feature was the actual ending. I’m not going to spoil anything but I will say it was a little too abrupt for my taste.

However, like I said earlier, the book wasn’t all bad. For one, Lois Lowry writes fluently and the novel is very easy to follow. With a clear theme and story, The Giver was seldom confusing and I always knew what was happening. In addition, Jonas was easy to relate to as well as smart, curious and thoughtful. I also liked the numerous unique aspects appearing throughout. The book was very thought-provoking and it made me grateful for all the freedom we have today.

My favorite, unforgettable moment from this novel is when Jonas  begins to see the colors he never knew existed. This scene is memorable because it made me really think of what my world would be like without color. A question I never even thought to ask!

Overall Rating: 3 Stars

