Tags

, ,

The Young Elites by Marie Lu

young elitesAdelina Amouteru is a malfetto: a child who survived the plague that swept the nations years ago, who was left with strange markings, and deemed an abomination by the society. Rumor has it that markings aren’t the only things different about malfettos. Some believe that they have magical abilities, ones that can kill many and give these malfettos immense power. When Adelina’s pent-up anger towards her father unleashes, she discovers her own power.  But there is something else different about her, as well. Adelina has a dark and sick mind like no other that give her the ambition to destroy anyone in her path.


What I Thought of The Young Elites

With Champion concluding the Legend series that I had and still have much adoration for, this new book by Marie Lu was much anticipated by me. Although it was definitely different, The Young Elites did not let me down in the slightest bit. First, I would like to say that I have never in my life read a book from such an original perspective. I love that Marie Lu was not afraid to show the twisted side of the main character Adelina, and to write a sort of villain’s story. This leads to my next point, which is that the characters were absolutely amazing. From Adelina to Raffaele, and Teren to Enzo, and everybody in between, I was completely obsessed and taken aback by the characters in The Young Elites. Adelina was a type of sick that I had never had the privilege to read from the perspective of, and this new experience was very interesting. It gives you a sort of moral dilemma, because although you wish to support the main character as they are still the protagonist, but their goals are so very messed up. Raffaele was another fantastic main character, who was a very faithful friend to Adelina in spite of the fact that he was scared of her. Lastly, Enzo was a compelling and very complex character that really grew on me as the book progressed.

Another amazing part of The Young Elites was the plot. It constantly had twists and turns that really surprised me, which is something not many books can do for me. Props to the author for that one. I could rest assured that if there was ever a moment when things were a bit dull, that there would be another radical plot twist soon. Also, I loved how there were so many perspectives, because The Young Elites is one of those books that demands to be told by from several point-of-views. I particularly  enjoyed the Teren chapters because it was intriguing to see how someone with such similarities to Adelina and the others could have a drastically different life and ambition.

The only thing I could complain about is the world building. I felt like the author spent so much time describing the characters physically and personality wise and their epic costumes (which is awesome), that she forgot all about the setting (not awesome). I mean, unless I had read up on this book I would’ve never known that this was a sort of Renaissance Italy setting. Thankfully, with all the amazing aspects of this book, lack of world-building does not stop The Young Elites from being a brilliant 5-star book!

A very memorable moment in this book is the scene where Enzo and Teren duel. Not only did it have a jarring plot twist at the end, this scene was particularly epic yet at the same time heart-breaking.

Overall Rating: 5 Stars

