Tags

, ,

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Ann Brashares

When Carmen buys a pair of jeans and they magically fit all of her friends, there’s only thing to do: form a sisterhood. But this is no ordinary sisterhood, this year is the four friend’s first summer apart which means the pants are traveling the globe. Lena is going to Greece with her sister to spend time with her grandparents. Then Bridget will spend her summer at a soccer camp in Baja California, Mexico. Carmen is going to South Carolina to be with her dad and unexpectedly his fiancee. That leaves only Tibby at home in Bethesda, Maryland. Throughout the summer, the girls agreed to send the pants to each other and write letters as much as possible. And with more than one love interest, a friend with cancer and lots of family drama, it’s going to be an interesting summer.


What I Thought of The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants

I know, the first impression this book gives isn’t exactly the best but believe me, take a chance on this book and you won’t regret it! With loads of humor, drama and intriguing characters and plot I absolutely enjoyed this novel.

What I liked the most from this book were the characters. Each girl was unique and had a lovable and realistic personality. Even Tibby, who I strongly disliked at first, grew on me as the book progressed. Additionally, all of the characters seemed to have some sort of flaw that, by the end of the book, was mostly realized and fixed. This obviously lead to significant character growth, which you (if you have read any of my other reviews) should know that I crave in every book. Another major plus for The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants was the storyline. Every chapter had a wealth of interesting scenes and humorous scenarios. But  that wasn’t all. In addition to the funny events there were serious ones as well. For instance, Bailey had cancer or Carmen’s beloved parents divorced. This balance of light hearted humor and serious scenes make the book that much more compelling.

My favorite scene is when Tibby and Bailey start to film the documentary together. I loved this scene because it showed a lot of meaningful character growth in Tibby, and with Bailey being one of my favorite characters I was glad she was going to be included through the rest of the book.

Overall Rating: 5 Stars

