Tags

, ,

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

Only weeks away from manhood, Todd Hewitt is the only boy left in Prentisstown– and the only one who doesn’t know the truth. As far as Todd knows, the Spackle, an alien race native to the New World, released a germ that killed all the women and gave men the ability to read each others thoughts. But when Todd discovers a girl in a swamp just outside of his home, everything changes. Suddenly, Todd and the girl, Viola, are in grave danger and they are forced to run for their lives. Will Todd and Viola ever learn the truth? And more importantly, will they survive?


What I Thought of The Knife of Never Letting Go

I hate to admit it, but when I first started reading this book I did not like it. I didn’t like it one bit at. But fortunately for me, I kept reading and as I read about the clever, likeable characters and fantastically written plot, by the time I finished I was dying for more!

At first read, this book is well…different. And not in the way I would’ve liked. The characters didn’t make any sense to me and I was overall very confused about where the story was going. However, after I read a few more chapters everything slowly came into place like a puzzle; revealing an interesting and exciting story with amazing (and understandable!) characters. There was never a dull moment and there were plot-twists galore. You would think you figured something out and then out of nowhere, something changes everything. That along with a unique, thought-provoking concept and lots of action and adventure, I couldn’t find anything to change. And that includes the characters who were spot-on with smarts, originality and relatability. I can’t wait to read the next book!

My favorite part of the book was when Viola sets a bridge on fire in order to save herself and Todd from the Prentisstown men. This scene was very riveting and exciting and it uncovered more of Viola’s character.

Overall Rating: 5 Stars

