Tags

, , , ,

Monster by Walter Dean Myers

monsterSteven Harmon is in jail. He’s doing his best to cope with being thrown in there until his trial for murder. If things don’t go well, he might end up with a permanent cell and no chance of making it back to the world he used to know. Steven Harmon is sixteen years old.


What I Thought of Monster

I absolutely devoured this book, reading it all in one day and practically in one sitting. This is probably because Monster is one of the most unique books I’ve ever read. In an odd yet brilliant way, it’s a movie within a book within a court transcript. It tells a captivating story with a writing style unlike any other. In addition, it has understandable and relatable characters. It is amazing that the author was able to convey clear characterization through just trial Q & A’s.

In fact, reading Monster was like being a jury on this case, and that’s the best part about it. Each reader has the liberty to make their own decision about who they think is guilty and who should be charged with what. Never has a book allowed me to disagree with the main character, but Monster offers that and more. Of course, I wanted the best for the protagonist Steve, but I also got to think critically about the evidence for and against him and form my own opinion on the situation. This novel is truly one of a kind. Monster is a quick and incredibly rewarding read for anyone who enjoys mystery or realistic fiction, and gets a great 4.5 star rating from me.

The most memorable part of this book are the final statements from each side of the case. I thought they were very powerful and equally strong, and they certainly left a lasting impression on me. These statements summed up the book and the case perfectly, which is why they were my favorite part of Monster.

Overall Rating: 4.5 Stars

