Tags

, ,

Shades of Earth by Beth Revis

After centuries of being trapped in space, Godspeed has finally reached it’s destination. But this new “Earth” is nothing like what Amy or Elder was expecting. There’s danger lurking in every corner, with toxic flowers and savage animals ready to strike. But that’s not their biggest problem. Upon scouting out the land, the settlers have realized they aren’t the only humans on this new planet. Now, Amy and Elder must learn to survive in a world no one prepared them for and build a future for not only themselves, but future generations.


What I Thought of Shades of Earth

I came into Shades of Earth with high expectations and unfortunately, this book did not live up to what I was waiting for. Because of the exasperating love triangle, the overblown amount of character death and cheesy ending I can only give Shades of Earth two and a half stars. There was one thing I liked about Shades of Earth though, and that was the plot. Beth Revis masterfully created a fast-paced story that was taut with tension and full of adventure. Additionally, Beth Revis implements many of her outstanding ideas into Shades of Earth, adding even more to the story. Honestly, I could’ve loved this novel, if it weren’t for the characters and ending. What I disliked the most was the love triangle. Love triangles are worn out and at this point, just bothersome. Also, if you are going to do a love triangle don’t create the second love interest in the final novel! And don’t get me started on all the deaths. I won’t spoil who passes away, but it was a lot more people than necessary and it adds to the already cheesy ending. Again, won’t spoil, but I wish Beth Revis did something less clichéd. My final opinion is that Shades of Earth is a merely okay book that’s a disappointment compared to the rest of the series. I do not recommend it.

In Shades of Earth, the most memorable moment is when Godspeed lands on Centauri-Earth. I enjoyed this moment because it set up the rest of the novel and built tension and suspense.

Overall Rating: 2.5 Stars

